Mix the colours of life: My make up ministry!

Make up for me has never been about colours. It has always been about mixing the colours of life. It takes boldness on the part of the makeup artist to put the colours on and great trust on the part of the person who wears the colours. I have always had women open up their hearts to me as I mix and apply the colours. Something deep inside them wants to speak and say it all out…  I find myself ministering, encouraging, building up, and being the friend and confidant as I apply makeup.

It all started at the age of 8. I was in primary 3 A*. I loved my teacher so much she was slim, had a perm, tribal marks and beautiful dark skin but it wasn’t the looks that got to me; it was what she did twice a week in class.  A few minutes to the end of the class she would paint her nails. I would stare with utter fascination at her as she painted her nails and would look for a reason to get close to her so I could stare at her painted nails and as she applied her lipstick. This went on for a while; she then changed my seat so I could watch from a close range… I was learning and I needed an opportunity to practice so I went home and told my mum who had never used make up in her life that she had to start using make up now…. She looked straight in the face and said ‘I am not your teacher, I am your mum’. I didn’t stop; I did everything a child would do to get the attention of my mum, so I refused to eat… Eventually, my mother said in a very low voice…I really love makeup and I admire women who use it but I don’t know how to use it, I don’t know where to apply it’.  Excited I said I will teach you mummy, I will do it for you don’t worry.

At the age of 8 I started painting my mum’s nails and doing her make up. I started saving up my cash gifts to buy nail polish and lipsticks (just in case my said she couldn’t afford it anymore, I had a store load of them)

Age 10 my clientele had grown and I was now doing makeup for aunties and neighbours.

Age 11 my love for hair began. Started making my own weave (weave on) with attachment and hair extensions

Age 12 I invented my own hair oil (coconut oil) and my journey from tom boy to a lady began. I had lessons on how to stand, walk and run on high heels. I had a neighbour AR* who would buy my coconut oil and ask me to massage it into her hair for a little extra change. She felt I needed to know more about being a lady so she would tell me to walk on a straight line. For 2 hours I was walking on a straight line….  One day she told me to stretch out my hands and open them up…so I did and then she said can you tell which hand has the finger you suck? It took a while for me pick out the finger then realise that my attention had been shifted from sucking my finger and I hadn’t sucked in weeks…( my mother’s bitter leaf, cello tape threats of pins, needles and blade cut off had not stopped it). She had simply redirected my focus.

Initially I did not like the walking lesson because for weeks I was simply walking or running on a straight line. Then one day she said you would wear the heels today. So she went into her room she was there for a while. Different thoughts crossed my head…. Maybe she was looking for one she wouldn’t mind if I broke while I walked….still waiting now sleepy and bored….I must have been dreaming I thought as she walked into the living room she looked beautiful. A mix of cream, tan and brown skirt suit with matching high heels…she had a wig on and makeup….WOW! I said. she dropped a pair of shoes on the floor she said ‘wear them and do what I do’. Hurriedly I wore the shoes with a huge smile on my face I was ready, ready to do the walk.

As the days went by she got tired and showed me where the shoes were so  every time I came in I walked in to where the shoes were and I walked, I ran, I sat up, I flicked my hair to the side. I was becoming a lady. She got a huge box and put shoes and bags and loads of stuff in it and said this is all yours for your 13th birthday, you have done so well and I love you… there are so many things money can’t buy and that includes happiness, money can buy the clothes, the hair, the makeup, the shoes and the bags but the feeling deep down inside money cannot buy that. You have made me very happy and you will be a very beautiful woman because you have it deep down inside.   

A week to my 13th birthday she died. She had cancer all this time but gained strength in teaching a little girl how to be a lady.

For my 13th birthday my dad gave me my very first compact powder and lipstick. He had no idea, no clue how much I love makeup, he felt that it would be an ideal gift for his jewel of inestimable value as she became a teenager and indeed it was.  My first compact was pink, oval and Mary Kay (he never thought I would be a Mary Kay consultant someday). My lipstick was a dark dusty pink and nude mix. I don’t remember the name now but remember its smell; I loved it and wasn’t allowed to wear it. I took them to school every day and during the break time I would open up my compact and stare at my face in the mirror.

To Mrs A* my teacher thank you for teaching me!

To the greatest mum in the world who didn’t kill my passion thank you!

To AR* it’s been years and years since you’ve been gone but your seeds of kindness, time and words have grown thank you!

To the best gift giving dad ever thank you!

Today I say thank you Lord for my passion, my ministry and the opportunity to mix the colours of life!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

