LEARNING CONTENTMENT…

There is nothing as depressing as looking back 10 years and wondering ‘is this it?’ asking ‘is this the big picture I saw 10 years ago?’ ‘is this all there is to it?’ hmmmmmmm
”Be content… learn to be content”

 I remember the first time I heard these words from someone I respect a lot,I didn’t understand what they were trying to say. I was going to say … ‘but I’m not greedy’ they went on to say, ‘you have to get to the point in your life when you can truly say I am content and it has nothing to do with what you have or have not’.

Now I was confused, inside my head I asked ‘is it now a crime to dream big and want more? When they said, ‘contentment has nothing to do with mediocrity; it has everything to with peace…’

For a while now I have been learning contentment, a journey beyond mediocrity and towards excellence. A journey to a place where I am at peace with who I was, who I am and who I will become. A journey, where every second counts, where every second is a moment in history and every word is deep. Where every day I have to live on purpose… Where I understand that the person standing right next to me is not there by accident but destined to be in that picture of my life at that moment.

Contentment, where I understand that I am here to serve humanity and make a difference in every environment I find myself and the moment I forget my purpose, I have lost my crown.

Contentment… peace… where I understand that things will not always work out the way I planned it but The One who knows the end from the beginning has given me an assurance that all things will work together for my good. The good things and the bad things, the sad things and the happy things, the stupid things and the funny things, the hot things and the cold things…all things. Like cake mix, like pancake mix, like various fruits for a Smoothie or fruit punch or maybe like Jollof rice where every ingredient has its timing before the final mix. All things will work together for my good but I need to learn contentment through these things. 

Yet through my thoughts on contentment all I hear on the inside is ‘…the chastisement of our peace was upon him…’ Isaiah 53:5 KJV. It’s easy to say that His stripes brought us healing but we forget that He was punished, rebuked and ridiculed as well so we could have peace. The peace we deny ourselves just because we choose to live in discontentment…

Lord, I’m learning contentment…I’m learning to be at peace with myself, my life, everything and everyone around me, help me Lord.

Amen.

‘…godliness with contentment is great gain.’ 1 Timothy 6-7 NIV

‘…what shall we do? And he said unto them, Do violence to no man, neither accuse any falsely; and be content with your wages.’  Luke 3:14 KJV

‘…I have learned how to be content (satisfied to the point where I am not disturbed or disquieted) in whatever state I am.’  Philippians 4:11 AMP

‘Let your conversation be without covetousness; and be content with such things as ye have: for he hath said, I will never leave thee, nor forsake thee.’  Hebrews 13:5 KJV

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

